Middlesex County College President Wins Honor Society Award

Joann La Perla-Morales, president of Middlesex County College, was awarded the 2014 Shirley B. Gordon Award of Distinction by Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for two-year colleges. The award was presented at “NerdNation,” the society’s 96th annual convention in Orlando last month.

“I’m honored to receive this award and I want to thank the leadership and members of PTK for all they have done to make this chapter so vibrant,” Dr. La Perla-Morales said. “In a short amount of time, they have improved from a two-star chapter to a five-star chapter, the highest level possible.”

Twelve other community college presidents and one provost also received the award.
They were selected based on their outstanding efforts toward promoting the goals of Phi Theta Kappa. The award is named for the late Dr. Shirley B. Gordon, Phi Theta Kappa’s longest serving Board of Directors chair and president emerita of Highline Community College in Des Moines, Washington. Dr. Gordon was named Phi Theta Kappa’s Most Distinguished College President in 1984.

Also during the convention, Ronald Rubanick, co-president of the Middlesex chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, was presented a Hallmark Award for his leadership. This is similar to how mobile casinos and online casino sites works as explained in this website.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi, is the largest honor society in higher education with 1,285 chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, plus several in Canada and overseas. Nearly 3 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 131,000 students inducted annually.