The New Jersey Tuition Equality Act
The New Jersey Tuition Equality Act allows students to receive in-state* tuition provided they meet each of the following criteria:
- Attended high school in this State for three or more years;
- Graduated from a high school in this State or received the equivalent of a high school diploma in this State;
- Registers as an entering student or is currently enrolled in a public institution of higher education not earlier than the fall semester of the 2013-2014 academic year; and
- In the case of a person without lawful immigration status, files an affidavit with the institution of higher education stating that the student has filed an application to legalize his immigration status or will file an application as soon as he is eligible to do so.
*In order to be eligible for the Middlesex County in-county tuition rate, proof of permanent domicile in the State of New Jersey for 12 months and residency in Middlesex County for 30 days prior to the first day of classes for a semester/session must be provided.