MCC Publications

Students Receive Science/Math/Tech Scholarships

Seventeen students were awarded $1500 scholarships in a ceremony in December. The awards, called Thomas Edison Scholarships, are sponsored by the National Science Foundation.

“This is a great opportunity for our students,” said Frank Burke, chair of the Computer Science and Information Technology Department. “They have demonstrated academic excellence and have worked very hard. They can use this money for tuition, fees and books.”

As part of the ceremony, students also heard from George Chang, chairperson of the Department of Computer Science at Kean University, who spoke about undergraduate research.

The Edison Scholars program provides scholarships and professional development opportunities for students in engineering technologies, computer science and mathematics.

These scholars will go on field trips to four-year colleges and universities. They also have the opportunity to hear experts speak on mathematics, technology and computer science.

The Edison Scholars are Song Chen, Steven House, Michael Karolewski, Stephanie White, Niravkumar Patel, Jagpreet Singh, Anteneh Workneh, Daniel Snyder, Avinash Shah, Sheharyar Chohan, Punit Patel, Zizhou Zhao, Amit Patel, William H. Brodie, Michael Morankinyo, Sahar Azmat and Ruell Brown.